Modular LivingAustralia

Main page › Guides › Approval fees and levies

Approval fees and levies by state

This guide covers a new home as the main dwelling. For granny flats and second dwellings, including developer contributions and infrastructure charges, see council fees and developer contributions on a second dwelling. Fees change every financial year; confirm current amounts with the council, certifier or levy body before budgeting.
Main cost-based levies, 2026-27
NSW long service levy0.25% on work of $250,000 or more[1]
Queensland QLeave levies0.575% on work of $150,000 or more[2]
WA Building Services Levy0.137% above $45,000[3]
WA Construction Training Fund0.2% on work over $100,000[4]
SA training levy0.25% on work over $100,000[5]
Tasmania0.1% administration fee plus 0.2% training levy[6][7]
ACT building levy, Class 11.40% of total cost of works[8]
*Thresholds and whether GST is included differ between levies. Check each source.

Approving a new home costs more than the council's application fee. In most states the larger amounts are levies charged as a percentage of the cost of the work and paid before the building approval is released. In the ACT, for example, the building levy for a house is 1.40% of the total cost of works[8]; in NSW, a long service levy of 0.25% applies to work of $250,000 or more.[1]

Four kinds of charge §

  1. Planning application fee — paid to the council or planning authority when a development application or planning permit is needed. Most states set a maximum scale by cost of works.
  2. Building approval fee — paid to whoever issues the building approval. Where that is a private certifier or building surveyor, the fee is set by them and is not covered here.
  3. State levies — long service, training and building-system levies, usually a percentage of the cost of work above a threshold, and usually payable before the approval is issued or work starts.
  4. Contributions and infrastructure charges — covered separately in council fees and developer contributions.

Why this matters for a modular home §

Most of these charges are calculated on the cost of the work, not just the site work. In NSW the estimated development cost covers the whole proposal — construction, installation of fittings and equipment, landscaping and ancillary work — at market value including labour.[9] For a factory-built home, ask the builder early which figure will be declared as the cost of work, because it drives every percentage-based levy below.

New South Wales §

Development application. The 2026-27 maximum fee for an estimated cost between $250,001 and $500,000 is $1,608 plus $2.34 for each $1,000 over $250,000. A dwelling house costing $100,000 or less has a flat $631 fee. Where the application has to be publicly notified, a further $1,532 applies.[10]

Complying development. The 2026-27 schedule lists no statutory assessment fee for a complying development certificate, only a $43 portal submission fee.[10]

Long service levy. 0.25% of the cost of work of $250,000 or more, including GST. The certificate allowing work to start cannot be released until it is paid.[1]

Victoria §

Planning permit. Where a permit is needed for a single dwelling, the 2026-27 statutory fee is $1,502.50 for development costing more than $100,000 and up to $500,000, and $1,623.40 between $500,000 and $1 million. A VicSmart application over $10,000 is $500.80.[11]

Building permit levy. Payable to the Building and Plumbing Commission where the cost of work is more than $10,000, before the building permit can be issued. The BPC calculates it with an online calculator; its homeowner fact sheet does not state the rate.[12] If the cost changes by $15,625 or more, the owner must tell the BPC within 28 days.[12] The new Building Reform Levy that started on 1 July 2026 applies only to Class 2 to 8 buildings, not houses.[13]

Queensland §

QLeave levies. 0.575% of the total cost of work of $150,000 or more, excluding GST, payable before the development permit for building work is issued.[2]

Council fees. A house often needs only building approval, but where a council application is needed, fees are set by each council. In Brisbane for 2026-27, a development application for a new dwelling house is $2,400, and a request to vary a Queensland Development Code siting requirement is $750 per criterion.[14]

Western Australia §

Building Services Levy. 0.137% of the value of the work above $45,000, including GST, or a flat $61.65 at or below that value. The local government collects it with the building permit.[3]

Construction Training Fund levy. 0.2% of the value of construction work over $100,000 for work starting on or after 1 July 2026, paid by the project owner before construction starts.[4]

South Australia §

Application fees. PlanSA lists a planning assessment fee of $242 for deemed-to-satisfy development over $10,000, and a building assessment fee for a house of $521 or 0.25% of the development cost, whichever is greater. PlanSA's page does not state the period these figures apply to.[15]

Training levy. 0.25% of the project value for work above $100,000, payable by the owner before building approval.[5]

Tasmania §

State charges. A building administration fee of 0.1% on work of $20,000 or more, collected by councils for the state,[6] plus a separate training levy, listed in one council's 2026-27 schedule at 0.2% for work over $20,000.[6][7]

Council fees. These vary. As one example, Central Highlands Council lists a Class 1 dwelling building permit fee of $320 and a plumbing assessment fee of $760 plus $200 per inspection.[7]

Australian Capital Territory §

Building levy. 1.40% of the total cost of works for a Class 1 building, with no dollar threshold.[8] This is the largest percentage-based approval charge in this guide.

Development application. Many new houses are exempt from a development application if they meet set requirements.[16] Where one is needed, the 2026-27 fee for work between $250,001 and $500,000 is $1,747 plus 0.438% of the amount over $250,000.[17]

Northern Territory §

The development permit fee for a single dwelling on one lot is listed at $255 for 2024-25.[18] A current figure and any building levy are not covered by the sources compiled here.

Worked example: a $400,000 home §

The table applies each published formula to a home with a cost of work of $400,000. It is arithmetic, not a quote: whether each charge applies depends on the pathway, whether GST is included differs between levies, and private certifier fees are excluded.

JurisdictionChargeAmountBasis
NSWDevelopment application, if needed$1,959$1,608 + $2.34 × 150[10]
NSWLong service levy$1,0000.25%[1]
VictoriaPlanning permit, if needed$1,502.50Flat fee for $100,001–$500,000[11]
VictoriaBuilding permit levyBPC calculatorRate not stated in the source[12]
QueenslandQLeave levies$2,3000.575%, cost excluding GST[2]
Western AustraliaBuilding Services Levy$5480.137%[3]
Western AustraliaConstruction Training Fund$8000.2%[4]
South AustraliaBuilding assessment fee$1,000Greater of $521 or 0.25%[15]
South AustraliaTraining levy$1,0000.25%[5]
TasmaniaBuilding administration fee$4000.1%[6]
TasmaniaTraining levy$8000.2%[7]
ACTBuilding levy$5,6001.40%[8]
ACTDevelopment application, if needed$2,404$1,747 + 0.438% × $150,000[17]

Practical points §

  1. Ask the builder or certifier for a written list of every approval fee and levy, and whether each is in the contract price or paid by you.
  2. Confirm the cost-of-work figure that will be declared. For percentage-based levies, a higher figure means a higher charge.[9]
  3. Budget for levies before approval. In NSW, Queensland and South Australia they are paid before work can start or the approval is released.[1][2][5]
  4. In Victoria, tell the BPC if the cost of work changes by $15,625 or more.[12]

What is not covered here §

Private certifier and building surveyor fees, the Victorian building permit levy rate, council fees outside the examples given, plumbing and electrical connection fees, developer contributions and infrastructure charges, home warranty or building indemnity insurance, and current Northern Territory fees and levies are not covered by the sources compiled here. Amounts are the published 2026-27 figures except where another year is stated, and none of them is a quote for a particular project.

The Dispatch — a monthly email when new guides are published. No noise; unsubscribe anytime.

Sent to info@modularlivingaustralia.com.au and handled by a person. See Privacy.

References §

  1. NSW Government — Long service levy — About the long service levy for the building and construction industry — the levy rate is 0.25% of the cost of building and construction works of $250,000 or more, including GST; it is paid by the applicant for the building approval or the person the work is done for; building work can only start after the levy is paid, and a council or accredited certifier can only release a construction certificate or complying development certificate after payment. nsw.gov.au/employment/rights-responsibilities/portable-long-service/bci-long-service-payments-scheme/long-service-levy
  2. QLeave (Queensland) — What is the levy — the combined levies are currently 0.575% of the total cost of building and construction work costing $150,000 or more excluding GST, of which the portable long service leave portion is 0.35%; the levies must be paid before a development permit is issued for building, plumbing and drainage or operational work, or before work starts if no permit is given. qleave.qld.gov.au/building-and-construction/levy-payers/what-is-the-levy
  3. Government of Western Australia — Building and Energy — Building approvals — the Building Services Levy for a building permit is 0.137% of the value of the work where it exceeds $45,000, and a flat $61.65 where the value is $45,000 or less; the value includes GST; the local government permit authority collects the levy. wa.gov.au/organisation/building-and-energy/building-approvals
  4. Construction Training Fund (Western Australia) — Levy brochure 2026 — The CTF levy is 0.2% of the total estimated value of construction work over $100,000 for construction starting on or after 1 July 2026 (over $20,000 if construction commenced before that date); the project owner is responsible for paying; the levy must be paid before construction work begins. api.ctf.wa.gov.au/wp-content/uploads/2026/07/CTF-Levy-Brochure-2026.pdf
  5. City of West Torrens (South Australia) — Building indemnity insurance and CITF requirements — the Construction Industry Training Fund levy is 0.25% of the estimated project value for works valued above $100,000 including GST; it is payable by the project owner before obtaining building approval, and proof of payment is submitted with the development application. westtorrens.sa.gov.au/Building-and-Planning/Building-indemnity-insurance-and-CITF-requirements
  6. Consumer, Building and Occupational Services (CBOS), Tasmania — Administration fee — councils collect a building administration fee on behalf of the state government on work costing $20,000 or more, at 0.1% of the total cost of the work; the fee is separate from the industry training levy, which CBOS does not manage. cbos.tas.gov.au/topics/technical-regulation/building-standards/permit-authorities/administration-fee
  7. Central Highlands Council (Tasmania) — Building and plumbing fees 2026-2027 — Lists the Tasmanian Building and Construction (training) levy at 0.2% of estimated cost of works for work over $20,000, the building administration fee at 0.1% for work of $20,000 or more, a Class 1 dwelling building permit fee of $320, and a Class 1 plumbing assessment fee of $760 plus $200 per plumbing inspection. One council's schedule. centralhighlands.tas.gov.au/wp-content/uploads/Building-Plumbing-Fees-2026-2027.pdf
  8. ACT Legislation Register — Building (Fees) Determination 2026 (DI2026-163) — Commenced 1 July 2026 under section 150 of the Building Act 2004; item 2.1 sets the building levy for class 1 or class 2 buildings at 1.40% of total cost of works (item 2.2, other building work, 1.28%); government certifier appointment for a single dwelling $867.90; certificate of occupancy and use $361.53. legislation.act.gov.au/DownloadFile/di/2026-163/current/PDF/2026-163.PDF
  9. City of Newcastle (NSW) — A guide to estimated development cost — the estimate covers the entire development proposal including demolition, construction, installing plant, fittings and equipment, landscaping and ancillary work, at market value including labour; up to $100,000 the applicant or a suitably qualified person may prepare the estimate; $100,000 to $3 million a suitably qualified person; over $3 million a registered quantity surveyor. newcastle.nsw.gov.au/getmedia/76ba4912-e6d3-47b4-b30e-046ec1deb8a5/A-Guide-to-Estimated-Development-Cost.pdf
  10. NSW Department of Planning, Housing and Infrastructure — Schedule of planning and development fees and charges 2026/27 — Maximum development application fees under Schedule 4 of the EP&A Regulation 2021 by estimated development cost — up to $5,000 $153; $5,001–$50,000 $235 plus $3.00 per $1,000 over $5,000; $50,001–$250,000 $488 plus $3.64 per $1,000 over $50,000; $250,001–$500,000 $1,608 plus $2.34 per $1,000 over $250,000; $500,001–$1 million $2,420 plus $1.64 per $1,000 over $500,000; $1,000,001–$10 million $3,625 plus $1.44 per $1,000 over $1 million; a dwelling house with an estimated cost of $100,000 or less $631; development requiring notice under a community participation plan $1,532; portal submission of a complying development certificate $43. No statutory complying development certificate assessment fee is listed. Current as of June 2026. planning.nsw.gov.au/sites/default/files/2026-06/schedule-planning-development-fees-charges-2026-27.pdf
  11. City of Greater Geelong — Statutory planning fee schedule 2026-2027 — Victorian statutory planning permit fees under regulation 9 of the Planning and Environment (Fees) Regulations, 1 July 2026 to 30 June 2027, fee unit $17.27 — single dwelling development up to $10,000 $233.10; more than $10,000 to $100,000 $734.00; more than $100,000 to $500,000 $1,502.50; more than $500,000 to $1 million $1,623.40; more than $1 million to $2 million $1,744.30; VicSmart more than $10,000 $500.80; amendment fees for a single dwelling by cost of additional development from $233.10 to $1,623.40. geelongcity.vic.gov.au/sites/default/files/2026-08/statutory_planning_fee_schedule_-_2026-2027.pdf
  12. Building and Plumbing Commission (Victoria) — Information for homeowners and applicants — the building permit levy is payable only if the cost of building work is greater than $10,000; it is based on the cost of work and must be paid before the building permit number and building permit can be issued; owners must notify the BPC of cost changes of $15,625 or more within 28 days, and penalties apply for failure to notify. The page does not state the rate; the BPC provides an online calculator. bpc.vic.gov.au/_media/resource-hub/fact-sheets/information-for-homeowners-and-applicants.pdf
  13. Building and Plumbing Commission (Victoria) — Building Reform Levy — applies from 1 July 2026 to new building permit number applications, replacing the cladding rectification component of the building permit levy; applies only to Class 2 to 8 buildings outside regional Victoria costing $1.5 million or more, at 0.37 cents in the dollar; Class 1 (houses) are outside it. bpc.vic.gov.au/building-surveyors/building-activity-management-system-bams/building-reform-levy
  14. Brisbane City Council — Development assessment and compliance fees 2026-27 — Points valued at $150 for 2026-27; a development application for a new dwelling house (Domestic type A) is 16 points or $2,400; a request for assessment against Queensland Development Code design and siting requirements is 5 points or $750 per performance criterion; fees exclude infrastructure charges. brisbane.qld.gov.au/content/dam/brisbanecitycouncil/corpwebsite/building-and-planning/documents/development-assessment-and-compliance-fees-2026-27.pdf
  15. PlanSA (South Australian Government) — Application fees, set by Ministerial fee notice — planning assessment for deemed-to-satisfy development $146 (cost under $10,000) or $242 (over $10,000); performance assessed $289 or 0.125% of development cost (capped), whichever is greater; public notification $289; building assessment for a Class 1 building $521 or 0.25% of total development cost, whichever is greater. The page does not state the period these figures apply to. plan.sa.gov.au/development_applications/before_you_lodge/application_fees
  16. ACT Planning — Development applications — a quick guide; new houses and some smaller projects can be exempt from a development application if they meet certain requirements. planning.act.gov.au/topics/design_build/da_assessment/development_applications_-_a_quick_guide
  17. ACT Legislation Register — Planning (Fees) Determination 2026 (DI2026-168) — Commenced 1 July 2026; development application fees by cost of work — $20,001–$100,000 $307.36 plus 0.585% over $20,000; $100,001–$150,000 $806.70 plus 0.585% over $100,000; $150,001–$250,000 $1,121.36 plus 0.585% over $150,000; $250,001–$500,000 $1,747.00 plus 0.438% over $250,000; $500,001–$1,000,000 $2,921.80 plus 0.438% over $500,000. legislation.act.gov.au/DownloadFile/di/2026-168/current/PDF/2026-168.PDF
  18. Australian Business Licence and Information Service (ABLIS) — Development permit, Northern Territory — Lists the development permit application fee for a single dwelling on one lot as $255.00 for the 2024-25 fee year; a development estimated to cost under $100,000 also carries a $255 fee. ablis.business.gov.au/service/nt/development-permit/3314

Figures are as published by the sources above at their respective dates and are paraphrased summaries, not verbatim reproductions. Verify current pricing and rules directly with builders, lenders and planning authorities.