Modular LivingAustralia

Main page › Guides › Tiny home running costs

Tiny home on wheels running costs

Registration figures on this page come from state government fee schedules, which change each financial year; confirm the current amount with the state transport agency before relying on it. Purchase prices are covered in Tiny home costs.
NSW registration, private use
Registration feeA$84 a year, plus vehicle tax by tare weight[1]
Tax, 2,501 – 2,790 kg tareA$860; A$516 with the private caravan discount[1]
Tax, 4,321 – 4,500 kg tareA$1,525; A$915 with the private caravan discount[1]
Heavy trailer (over 4.5 t GVM)Separate heavy vehicle charges apply[2]
VictoriaNo TAC charge or duty on light trailers and caravans[3]
*NSW figures as published on the NSW Government fees page; the page states fees rose 2.65% from 1 July 2026.

A tiny house on wheels is registered as a trailer or caravan, so its main fixed running cost is registration priced by weight.[4] In NSW, private-use vehicle tax for a trailer of 2,501–2,790 kg tare is A$860 a year, or A$516 where the 40% private caravan discount applies, plus an A$84 registration fee; above 4.5 tonnes gross vehicle mass a trailer is a heavy vehicle with separate charges.[1][2] Insurance, site arrangements and services sit on top and are not set by any fee schedule.

Tiny home price guides cover the cost of buying the home. What they generally leave out is the cost of keeping it — and for a home on wheels, several of those costs follow from the fact that it is legally a vehicle. This page covers registration and inspection, which are published by state governments, and points to the other recurring costs covered elsewhere on this site.

Registration is priced by weight §

In NSW, a trailer or caravan pays an annual registration fee of A$84 plus vehicle tax set by tare weight (the weight of the trailer when empty).[1] Tiny houses on wheels are heavy for trailers, so the upper bands are the relevant ones.

Tare weightPrivate usePrivate caravan (40% discount)
1,500 – 2,500 kgA$550A$330
2,501 – 2,790 kgA$860A$516
2,791 – 3,050 kgA$977A$586
3,051 – 3,300 kgA$1,070A$642
3,301 – 3,560 kgA$1,165A$699
3,561 – 3,810 kgA$1,250A$750
3,811 – 4,060 kgA$1,343A$806
4,061 – 4,320 kgA$1,434A$860
4,321 – 4,500 kgA$1,525A$915

Source: NSW Government vehicle registration fees page, last modified August 2026; vehicle tax only, excluding the A$84 registration fee.[1] The page states fees increased by 2.65% from 1 July 2026 — check the current amount before budgeting.

The 40 per cent reduction applies to privately registered towed caravans and purpose-built camper trailers.[1] Whether a particular tiny house on wheels is registered as a caravan, and so qualifies for the reduction, depends on how it is classed when registered — that is not established by the sources compiled here, and the difference is several hundred dollars a year.

Over 4.5 tonnes: a heavy vehicle §

A trailer with a gross vehicle mass over 4.5 tonnes is a heavy trailer in NSW, with separate charges by trailer type and axle count — for example A$1,578 a year for a two-axle and A$2,337 for a three-axle pig or dog trailer, from 1 August 2025.[2] Registration fees and inspection fees may apply on top; first NSW registration of a heavy trailer is exempt from stamp duty.[2] Which heavy trailer category a tiny house would fall into is not stated in the sources located.

The 4.5 tonne line matters at the design stage. Gross vehicle mass is the loaded weight, not the empty weight, so a home that is under the line when it leaves the builder can be over it once furniture, water and belongings are added. Road limits and weights are covered in Tiny homes in Australia.

Victoria and Queensland §

In Victoria, light trailers and caravans pay neither the Transport Accident Commission charge nor motor vehicle duty, and are registered for 12 months at a time.[3] The registration fee for light trailers is not set out on the page located, so it is not stated here.

In Queensland, a trailer with more than one axle or an aggregate trailer mass over 750 kg — which describes any tiny house on wheels — needs a pre-registration inspection self-assessment and a current Queensland safety certificate or certificate of inspection; if the home uses gas, a gas inspection certificate issued within the previous three months is also required.[5] The Queensland registration costs page does not list trailer fees by weight and directs owners to an online quote tool.[6]

Registration costs in Western Australia, South Australia, Tasmania, the ACT and the Northern Territory are not covered by the sources compiled here.

Insurance §

A tiny house on wheels is insured as a caravan or trailer rather than as a house.[4] What that means for cover — including the gap that can open while the home is being transported — is explained in Tiny home insurance. No published premium figures are compiled on this site.

Where it sits §

The largest recurring cost for many owners is not registration but the right to park and live in the home. That depends on the site arrangement, each with its own cost structure:

Services and maintenance §

A tiny home either connects to the services on the land or runs off-grid. An off-grid setup is given an indicative A$15,000 by one industry site, and licensed electrical and plumbing work is required by law in every state, at an indicative A$5,000 to A$14,000.[7] The ongoing costs of off-grid systems — battery replacement, water treatment, wastewater servicing — are discussed qualitatively in Off-grid systems for tiny homes. Where the home uses gas, Queensland requires a recent gas inspection certificate at registration.[5]

What is not covered here §

No independent survey of the annual running costs of tiny houses on wheels in Australia has been located. Registration amounts outside NSW are not covered, and NSW figures change each financial year. Insurance premiums, park and community site fees, trailer maintenance (tyres, bearings, brakes), and the cost of towing or relocating a tiny home are not covered by the sources compiled here. Fixed tiny homes on foundations are buildings, not vehicles, and do not pay registration; their running costs follow those of any small dwelling.

The Dispatch — a monthly email when new guides are published. No noise; unsubscribe anytime.

Sent to info@modularlivingaustralia.com.au and handled by a person. See Privacy.

References §

  1. NSW Government — Vehicle registration fees page, last modified August 2026. Sets annual vehicle tax for trailers and caravans by tare weight, including for private use A$156 at 255–764 kg, A$550 at 1,500–2,500 kg, A$860 at 2,501–2,790 kg, A$977 at 2,791–3,050 kg, A$1,070 at 3,051–3,300 kg, A$1,250 at 3,561–3,810 kg and A$1,525 at 4,321–4,500 kg; states a 40 per cent reduction applies to privately registered towed caravans and purpose-built camper trailers (for example A$516 at 2,501–2,790 kg and A$915 at 4,321–4,500 kg) but not to motorhomes or campervans; lists an annual registration fee of A$84 for all vehicles and A$58 for standard number plates; and states registration fees increase by 2.65 per cent from 1 July 2026. nsw.gov.au/topics/vehicle-registration/fees-concessions-forms/fees
  2. NSW Government — Heavy vehicle registration costs page. Defines a heavy trailer as one with a gross vehicle mass over 4.5 tonnes built to be towed by a motor vehicle; lists charges effective 1 August 2025 by trailer type and axle count, including A$816 for one axle, A$1,578 for two axles and A$2,337 for three axles for pig and dog trailers; states registration fees, inspection fees and stamp duty may also apply, with first NSW registration of a heavy trailer exempt from stamp duty. nsw.gov.au/driving-boating-and-transport/vehicle-registration/fees-concessions-and-forms/heavy-vehicle-registration-costs
  3. VicRoads — Vehicle fees page. States that for light trailers and caravans the owner does not pay the Transport Accident Commission (TAC) charge or motor vehicle duty, and that light trailers and caravans have only a 12-month registration option; refers heavy trailers to the heavy vehicle fees page. vicroads.vic.gov.au/registrations/fees-and-charges/vehicle-fees
  4. RateChallenge — Mortgage broking information site, October 2025. States a tiny house on wheels is registered and insured as a caravan or trailer and must meet lighting, brake and aggregate trailer mass rules. Commercial source. ratechallenge.com.au/tiny-home-finance-guide/
  5. Queensland Government — Register your trailer or caravan page, updated September 2026. States a pre-registration inspection self-assessment is required for a trailer with more than one axle or an aggregate trailer mass over 750 kg, that an original current Queensland safety certificate or certificate of inspection must be provided, and that a gas inspection certificate issued within the previous three months is also needed if the vehicle uses gas, unless exempt. Registration fees and duty are payable but amounts are given on separate pages. qld.gov.au/transport/registration/register/caravan
  6. Queensland Government — Registration costs page. Does not list 12-month registration costs for light trailers or towed caravans by weight; directs owners to an online registration quote tool, and states heavy vehicle registration charges are set nationally by the National Transport Commission. qld.gov.au/transport/registration/fees/cost
  7. TinyDownUnder — Industry information site, April 2026. Gives an indicative A$15,000 for an off-grid setup and states licensed tradespeople are required by law in every state for electrical and plumbing work, at an indicative A$5,000 to A$14,000. Industry guidance. tinydownunder.com/blog/tiny-home-cost-australia/

Figures are as published by the sources above at their respective dates and are paraphrased summaries, not verbatim reproductions. Verify current pricing and rules directly with builders, lenders and planning authorities.

Categories: Tiny homes · Costs & planning